motivationmeetsinspiration

Stimulate Your Mind

What all our goals lack?

So you set yourself a new goal? Anxious to lose those ten pounds, maybe you want to start a blog or save money for your dream vacation? Either way most of us are very ambitious and commendable. However, how long do you actually keep your commitment? All goals come down to is your commitment to attaining them. However, what we lack in achieving our goals is vision.

Many goals are not accomplished overnight. Day one of achieving a goal is usually the most productive. Your so set on making a change and you are your most productive when the goal is fresh. However, day 2, 3, and 4 come along and you most likely see no further improvement. These first few days into your goal set the tone of the rest of your journey. Your vision is your journey.

I had the opportunity to run a half marathon a little over a year ago. I set this goal for myself 4 months prior with no prior training or experience in running. However, I knew this was something I wanted to accomplish because of the vision of a physically fit individual. It was no easy accomplishment as day one of training came along and my first hurdle was to run a mile. By the end of that mile, I was sweating profusely and short of breath. This moment I was vulnerable as I started to think whether or not this goal was attainable. This is what makes or breaks goals in a moment in which I call the turning point.

The turning point in your vision is similar to a fork in the road. You can either go back to where you are comfortable or you can travel an unknown pass to reach your destination. Taking the path towards your goal will not be easy but people with vision understand that. People with vision want to overcome these challenges because they know at the end the journey will be worth it.

I chose to remain on course to complete my training knowing that I still had the vision to complete the half marathon. I trained 3 days a week and each week ran another mile and eventually completed my training and ran the half marathon.

People with vision will realize that the journey gets easier as you continue to overcome hurdles. Your sight improved as your mind learns to adapt to challenges and nothing can stop you until your goal is set. Vision allows you to stay hungry and seek pass the obstacles to reach your final destination. Set goals, have a vision, achieve everything.

 

-P.L.

4 Comments»

  benjaminhaggith wrote @

The importance of a clear vision is often underrated! Loved the post, well worth the read.

  AntiPopculture wrote @

Thank you. I appreciate it!

  Nakita Simpson wrote @

Wonderful insight on the breaking point, seems like we all teeter on this edge and I’m right here myself. This was great motivation, thanks man!

  AntiPopculture wrote @

Thank you Kita!


Leave a comment